Abbey Road – Initial Impression.

I feel so-so on this Beatles album so far. There are a few songs on the album that were familiar to me and I was pleasantly surprised to find that. I always told myself that I didn’t like the Beatles, but I never took the time to listen. It’s kind of like one of those things where you say you know you won’t like something even though you’ve never tried it. I guess I can be close minded to music from other decades but this assignment might change my mind. I like the beats to some of their songs, but since I haven’t researched the songs yet, a lot of their songs confuse me. I’m big on listening to the lyrics when I’m judging a song and if I don’t understand what is being spoken about I tend to just shun it away. Their music is very different to anything that I normally listen to but I am willing to give it more of a chance. To be honest, what I heard is what I pretty much what I had expected to hear, with that 60s kind of hippy feel. Their songs were confusing to me since most of the albums that I listen to all seem to have a specific theme. This album was just talking about a bunch of different things, and using metaphors that I couldn’t even begin to understand. A lot of the songs were pretty short, which I admit I enjoyed since I didn’t want to spend 5 minutes listening to a song I felt no connection to. Finally, I might not really know what rock music is I guess, but this album didn’t sound like the rock I know today. Possibly the genre has changed over the decades, but this isn’t an album that I would classify under rock, but then again I’m no expert on music genres. I hope that by listening to the album again that my feelings will change towards their music. They must have been doing something right with their music since they were so famous after all. I have to rate this album a 2.5 so far. :/

This entry was posted in Album Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

