Who Run The World?! GIRLS!

Run The World (Girls) was written by Beyoncé and others including: The-Dream, Afrojack, Diplo (DJ), Switch (DJ), and Vybz Kartel. The original title was supposed to be Girls (Who Run the World), but was switched to Run The World (Girls). This song only reached to be number 29 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. The song is about female empowerment and she makes her statement very aggressively in this song. I do like the message behind the song because obviously girls rule. J But it also seems like a constant repeating theme in her music. “Entertainment Weekly notes the continuation of past themes, writing that it would be “appreciated” to see her “switching lanes a bit content-wise…” I don’t really like the song itself. I didn’t like the fact that it took the Pon de Floor beat by Major Lazer.

I feel like it would’ve been better if she would’ve made it a little more original. “The song, which samples Major Lazer’s “Pon de Floor,” “is a bit overstuffed, but fairly enjoyable,” says the Village Voice.”[B]ut there’s also something exhausting about it that goes beyond its cheer-team beats. It doesn’t seem so much like a song as it does a collection of movements, of snippets that can be broken down into iTunes previews.”” I’m not really into songs that borrow the beat of others, it makes me feel bored. I’m not sure if the song got tons of radio play since I don’t listen to the radio at all, but it’s a radio friendly song and it seems like something that would definitely be played a lot. It would probably end up on a radio station like Z100 though.

The music video was amazing in my opinion. She hired 242 dancers, and the style of dance intrigued me. I’m not a dancer or anything at all but dance has always been one of my interests. I loved the visuals of it: the animals, setting, wardrobe and the choreography. It was an army of females that made me feel empowered myself. I think the video definitely did better than the song itself, receiving three nominations at the 2011 MTV Music Video Awards and winning Best Choreography. It was also nominated for Best Dance Performance at the 2011 Soul Train Music Awards and Favorite Music Video at the 2012 People’s Choice Awards.

In all honesty, I don’t really have much to say about this song. It’s just not my cup of tea and it’s not a song I feel like I could be able to dance to either. It’s one of those “how am I supposed to dance to this?” type of songs. Beyoncé did do a great job dancing to it obviously but I definitely won’t be moving around the dance floor like her. I guess I’ll just bob my head or something.

Song – 2 -__-

Sources:

http://marquee.blogs.cnn.com/2011/04/21/whats-the-verdict-beyonces-run-the-world-girls/

This entry was posted in Album Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

