1+1

1+1 is the opening track on the album and in my opinion it was a great choice to start off the album with that song. The song is a ballad which includes the genres of contemporary R&B and soul. It was written by Beyoncé, The-Dream, and Tricky Stewart. It was supposed to be on The-Dream’s album Love vs. Money and was to be titled Nothing But Love. (I honestly can’t imagine anyone else singing this song but Beyoncé. Here is a clip of The-Dreams singing the song. Nothing But Love – The-Dream The song uses guitar and piano as its foundation. It’s one of the main reasons I also love this song because those are my two favorite instruments which I attempted to learn how to play and didn’t do so well. 1+1 was first debuted on American Idol. I love this clip that Jay-Z filmed of her practicing for the debut of the song on American Idol because it’s so simple, and her voice is just so beautiful and powerful. (Click the following link – http://lifeandtimes.com/pregame) Another reason why this song is amazing is because “…it showcases a relatively raw vocal performance from Beyoncé, presenting a side of her voice she told Billboard she wanted to use more of on her forthcoming album, 4; “I used a lot of the brassiness and grittiness in my voice that people hear in my live performances, but not necessarily on my records.” It is a radio friendly song, but for some reason I feel like it’s a song that doesn’t really belong on the radio. I’m just not sure where it would fit in.

I love this song because I can relate to her emotions and I feel that I can feel exactly what she’s feeling for the person she is singing about. I am currently in a relationship with someone and it took a very long time for us to overcome certain situations which were in the way of us being together, and this song puts into words exactly how I feel about him. This has got to be my favorite verse from the song.

“Hey, I don’t know much about guns but I
I’ve been shot by you (hey)
And I don’t know when I’m gonna die but I hope
That I’m gonna die by you (hey)
And I don’t know much about fighting but I
I know I will fight for you (hey)
And just when I ball up my fists I realize
I’m laying right next to you baby”

The music video was beautiful as well. She kept it simple and there wasn’t a whole big fuss in the background or any dramatic scenes. It was just her and in some scenes her and her mate. The fact that there wasn’t a ton of effects for the video attracted me to it and it was perfect for this type of song. I see the simplicity of it as it’s only you and the other person that matter, not anything else. And in 2:27-2:37 when I saw the tears in her eyes, I felt a strong connection to her emotions. It’s crazy! This song could be on repeat forever and I wouldn’t change my mind about it.

Song – 5

Sources:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/musicblog/2011/may/27/beyonce-1-1

This entry was posted in Album Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

