Drum roll please … & the verdict is …

… IT STILL ROCKS. I can say that my overall impression of the album has not given a complete 180. I felt like I would possibly get tired of it since I had to listen to it a few times over for the assignment but there is still something about it that keeps me coming back. To be honest there were about three songs out of the twelve that are on the album that I didn’t enjoy too much. Those being: Secret, which I discussed, Must Get Out and Sweetest Goodbye. I think that’s pretty decent though considering back then when I used to buy the whole CD an artist would put out; it would be because I only liked two or three songs and the rest – not so much. I found that I was able to connect with practically all of the songs, but these lyrics from The Sun, really stuck out to me. “But I cannot forget/ Refuse to regret/ So glad I met you/ Take my breath away/ Make everyday/Worth all of the pain that I have
gone through/ And mama I’ve been cryin’/ Cause things ain’t how they used to be/ She said the battles almost won/ And we’re only several miles from the sun.” I felt like I connected a lot with this song because it wasn’t only about love, but has an incorporation of family and with having been going through so much at home in the past few months I feel like this is very fitting to me. I do hope that the sun means that things will get better – not that we’re about to burn up or something. 😦

I liked the fact that practically the whole album was inspired by this one girl and the break-up. I mean people now are talking about how amazing Adele is (which she is) and how she basically came to fame over creating her albums about a break-up as well, but HELLO! Maroon 5 did it first. :p

I have also heard a few of their other songs like “Misery”, “Goodnight, Goodnight”, and more recently “Moves Like Jagger”, but I can’t say it’s gone any further than that. But since I did enjoy this album so much I will definitely be checking out the other two albums that they have put out since having released Songs About Jane. Although people were offended by their sexual lyrics or whatever it may be, I didn’t mind at all and I see no problem with people expressing themselves how they like. People tend to act like it’s a big huge deal to talk about sex or display anything sex related when in this generation. So what if they talked about sex? They’re a bunch of GUYS! It’s like no biggie. Well at least that’s how I see it. I enjoyed this album to the fullest, and their ways of expression and lyrics made it just that much better. I despise music with crappy lyrics no matter how great the beat may be.

This album is still a 5 to me!

This entry was posted in Album Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drum roll please … & the verdict is …

  1. chrissytheta says:

    “I liked the fact that practically the whole album was inspired by this one girl and the break-up. I mean people now are talking about how amazing Adele is (which she is) and how she basically came to fame over creating her albums about a break-up as well, but HELLO! Maroon 5 did it first. :p”–> so true! Maroon 5 gave way to an equally amazing artist like Adele.

    Overall you did a really great job with the album, I truly enjoyed reading each of your posts! I could tell you definitely got into the assignment and it shows through your writing. I loved that you always included a video or an external source (and always cited it, nice job) to supplement your commentary. You always added a personal touch or relevance to yourself with each post which is great.
    I’m glad you listened to a few more of their songs! Moves Like Jagger is definitely a fun song, not very deep, but fun to dance to and just let loose.
    I really look forward to reading your next set of blog posts! Keep up the amazing work.
    As always contact me if you have any questions or anything.

Leave a Reply

