Pump Up The Volume

This movie was absolutely amazing. When it first started off it seemed kinda old and boring, but then I started paying attention to the voice in the background and what he was saying really drew me in. “Everything is polluted. The environment, the government, the schools you name it. Speaking of schools. I was walking the households the other day and I asked myself. Is there life after high school?” That’s the same thing I thought my whole junior and senior year of high school. It seemed to me that “Happy Harry Hard-On” was always worried about something. He was unhappy, and he felt stuck – just like me. I felt like I could quote him for days. Is that corny?

“You see, there’s nothing to do anymore. Everything decents been done. All the great themes have been used up. Turned into theme parks. So I don’t really find it cheerful to be living in totally exhausted decade where there is nothing to look forward to and no one to look up to.”

I know exactly what he means.

I loved that he was made into such a quiet, nerdy looking character. At first when I saw him I was thinking how ugly he was. But as the movie went on, and he kept speaking as his radio personality, I started to find him more attractive as funny as that may sound. I enjoyed everything he had to say. This character was able to put into words everything I feel like I can never find the words to say. It’s insane how he impacted hundreds of teenagers through this home radio station that happened through complete accident. By trying to find a way to reach his friends back in New York, he reached the entire teenage population of Paradise Hills, Arizona, and became their voice. He said everything they felt they couldn’t say. It was complete chaos but they just gained the “guts” to stand up for what they believed in, and what they wanted to do. It did kind of confuse me in the way that he spoke to Malcolm during the call about suicide and it was unfortunate that he couldn’t be of any support.

“…Did you at least write a note? You have a reason don’t you? You’re not going to be one of those people who kills themselves and nobody has any idea of why they did it? Hey, that’s why we need a note pal!”

In the end, I was just glad that everyone stood up for what they wanted and fought against an unfair system. One voice, led to the use of many other voices, and it shows what a huge impact a single person can make by reaching out through media.

“Everyone mix it up, it’s not game over yet, it’s just the beginning, but it’s up to you. I’m calling for every kid to seize the air. Steal it, it belongs to you. Speak out, they can’t stop you. Find your voice and use it. Keep this going. Pick a name, go on air. It’s your life, take charge of it. Do it, try it, try anything. Spill your guts out and say shit and fuck a million times if you want to, but you decide. Fill the air, steal it. Keep the air alive … TALK HARD!”

 

This entry was posted in Class Work Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pump Up The Volume

  1. chrissytheta says:

    Great work! I definitely thought Harry was hot by the end of the movie too, don’t worry you’re not alone 🙂
    The themes in this film were so powerful and easy to relate to. It’s like Harry was saying everything we were all thinking, but afraid to say or do anything about it until we were roused to “mix it up” and break free.
    Glad you enjoyed the movie!

Leave a Reply

